Welcome message

On behalf of the SSPA2021 scientific and organizing committees, it is my great pleasure to welcome you to the 2021 edition of the Summer School on Pharmaceutical Analysis, which focuses on the analytical methods to achieve efficiency in the hit-to-lead process.

SSPA2021 gathers together fourteen recognized experts from the academic and industrial sectors that will share their experience in the field and discuss the best analytical strategies to speed up the drug discovery process. Hence, a special thanks is due to all lecturers who have accepted the invitation of the scientific committee and have dedicated their time to the success of this event.

The 2021 edition is a special and challenging event for many reasons. It is, indeed, the first time the School is delivered as virtual event. This has opened the opportunity for young researchers and PhD students to attend the School from their own Countries and has challenged the lecturers and organizers to search for new ways of communication and interactions. Secondly, the 2021 edition celebrates 25 years of School, which moved its first steps in June 1996 under the direction of Prof. Sergio Pinzauti, Emeritus Professor at the University of Florence, to the memory of which this edition is dedicated.

SSPA2021 is the first event of a three-year educational cycle which foresees, in 2022, an edition dedicated to “Drug development: bioanalytical aspects” (SSPA2022) and, in 2023, an edition focused on “Analytical methods for drug manufacturing and quality control” (SSPA2023).
I hope to welcome you in presence next year in Rimini.

Manuela Bartolini
SSPA Director

The School in numbers

Meeting days
Educational hours


Scientific committee

Manuela Bartolini, Chair (University of Bologna, IT)
Giancarlo Aldini (University of Milan, IT)
Massimo Breda (Aptuit Verona, an Evotec company)
Ersilia De Lorenzi (University of Pavia, IT)
Francesco Epifano (University of Chieti, IT)
Alberto Massarotti (University of Piemonte Orientale, IT)
Federica Pellati (University of Modena e Reggio Emilia, IT)
Roccaldo Sardella (University of Perugia, IT)

Local Organizing committee

Vincenza Andrisano (University of Bologna, IT)
Manuela Bartolini (University of Bologna, IT)
Lara Davani (University of Bologna, IT)
Serena Montanari (University of Bologna, IT)
Marina Naldi, Secretariat (University of Bologna, IT)


logo 1logo 2logo 3





logo sponsor